Rotary Trauma Surgeon's Analysis of Princess Diana
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Kenneth L. Mattox, MD, FACS
Dr. Mattox is Distinguished Service Professor in the Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery at Baylor College of Medicine, and he is Chief of Staff and Chief of Surgery at Ben Taub General Hospital, where he has served since 1973. He helped develop the internationally renowned Ben Taub General Hospital Emergency Center and its equally respected Trauma Center. His reputation as an innovator in trauma care is worldwide. He has made original and significant contributions in trauma resuscitation, trauma systems, thoracic trauma, vascular injury, autotransfusion, complex abdominal trauma and multi-system trauma. His research in preoperative fluid restriction for penetrating trauma shook the foundation of surgical doctrine in this area. Authoring over 600 articles and more than 1000 abstracts, he has also served on six Editorial Boards and has been an Editorial Reviewer for 15 other journals. His textbook, Trauma, is an international best seller, and he is co-editor of the Sabiston Textbook of Surgery, recognized throughout the world. He co-authored the unique, international best seller, Top Knife, a practical guide to trauma care, translated into ten foreign languages. He frequently receives emails from physicians in war zones who refer to this “little book” as their Bible in the OR. He recently concluded his service as Second Vice President of the American College of Surgeons, and has served as an officer in numerous trauma and surgical professional organizations. He is also active in the Rotary Club of Houston and the John P. McGovern Museum of Health and Medical Science, having served as an officer and on the boards of both. Doctor Mattox is equally adept in the emergency center, operating room, intensive care unit, conference room, courtroom and political arena. Clinician, technician, administrator, educator, researcher, medical statesman and iconoclast equally describe this versatile and controversial surgeon.